Find Your Own Way

I recently returned to a class where basic free running techniques are taught.  I used to help teach with a buddy of mine but it seems that I am no longer needed as an instructor.  I’m not really qualified to teach the sport but I was passionate enough to want to teach. At first I felt a little left out, and as the class rolled on I stopped feeling that way.  I realized that the people that were taking the class did not practice outside.  This made me realize that I was more capable than most of them.  I got home and turned on “Jump Britain”.  Sebastian Foucan stated a very profound fact: “Free Running should be practiced by yourself”.  It hit me, I forgot the reason I started practicing this dicipline.  I wanted recognition for my skills as free runner but I didn’t need it.  I realized that free running should be done for yourself, and not for anyone else.  After realizing that fact, I now know that I can grow as a free runner.  Find Your Own Way.

I practice Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ) at the Comquest Academy of Martial Arts.  Jiu Jitsu has allowed me to have more confidence in myself, and my grappling abilities.  In a way BJJ has saved my life.  Train Hard, Fight Easy.

~ by Nick Palomo on September 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
