Parkour vs. Freerunning

I have been asked by many people over the past year, what discipline do you follow?  Parkour or freerunning?  I always say that I do freerunning.  Freerunning is about following your own path.  Doing whatever you feel like doing, expressing yourself in whatever way possible.  With parkour, their is a line.  Things that you do in freerunning, like flips are not considered parkour because it doesn’t fit the philosophy.  Personally, I use freerunning as journey both physically and mentally.  I want to take the path where we are not limited in our expression.  I would like the two disciplines to come together and be unified but for now I will call my discipline, Freerunning.

“All You Have Control Of Is Now, Make The Most Of Now” Daniel Ilabaca

~ by Nick Palomo on February 17, 2010.

3 Responses to “Parkour vs. Freerunning”

  1. This is a good mindset to have – I’m the same way – love it

  2. I understand where you are coming from. I started with Parkour but it did not fit my personality. I like the freedom of freerunning. I like being able to express myself thru my movements. I love being able to be as flashy or as reserved as i want to be on that day. Parkour has very strict rules which goes against the philosophy in itself which is to FIND YOUR OWN PATH. What if i don’t want to follow in David Belle’s footsteps? What if MY parkour, MY path includes flipping and a little flair? Who is he to tell me my path or way is wrong? I practice both disciplines and i do feel like they should be one. FreeParkour is what me and my friends call it lol.

  3. ya same i would have to say free running, freerunning is more fun because u get to move ur body in different ways like by doing flips and spins, in parkour u cant do flips or spins or u are doing a mix of parkour and freerunning, so anybody who wants to know which is better freerunning for sure, i have lots of help ful tips and tricks on my blogs so u guys should check them out thanks and peace

Leave a Reply

 
